Veggie Stir Fry

Last night for dinner, Blake made a veggie stir fry. My only job was the rice and I messed it up! Haha. I’ve only ever made the ‘boil in the bag’ rice, so this was new for me. We were shocked when the directions said it needed to cook for 45-55 minutes 🙂 I used Greenlife’s store brand brown rice and we liked the taste, just have to get the hang of cooking it to the right consistency. Thankfully Blake did an awesome job on the stir fry – it was SO good!

We used yellow squash, zucchini, broccoli, carrots and mushrooms.

We will definitely be making this again! B cooked the veggies in a little EVOO and they were great plain, but I had my heart set on Fuji-style veggies, (Fuji is a japanese hibachi restaurant) so we added this sauce I picked up at EarthFare.

It was incredible, but didn’t quite meet all of our guidelines. First off, it had a rather long ingredients list of 14 items. It contained soy (soy sauce) and corn products (xantham gum.) We chose to have it anyway since we have mostly eliminated soy/corn from our diet and these ingredients were close to the end of the list. I definitely had a ‘duh!’ moment when shopping for this sauce. The original plan was to get soy sauce, but clearly the main ingredient was a soy product 🙂 This ended up being better anyway, since it had a bit of sweetness to it. I think soy sauce would have been too salty.

Leave a Reply

